Peace

Holy Spirit,
Please speak to me today, in a way that comforts my soul, and my inmost being. I need to hear that You are with me and that You will help us. Please help me to trust You so much more than I trust my fears. Please encourage me, and help me to get closer to You. Please keep me in Your perfect peace.
In Jesus’ precious name I pray,
Amen

“You keep him in perfect peace
    whose mind is stayed on you,
    because he trusts in you.
Trust in the Lord forever,
    for the Lord God is an everlasting rock.
Isaiah 26:3-4

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. ”
John 14:27

“do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.
Philippians 4:6-7

Trust is something that I know I struggle with more than I should. I’ve talked about it before, how I can’t believe that I find it hard to put my trust in the Creator of the whole world. But today I want to talk about something that I think is the root of my trust issues. Or at least some of it.

Overthinking.

Are any of you guilty of this? I can take something that is supposed to encourage me and overthink about it so much that I somehow distort it into something that means sudden doom. Sounds extreme, I know, but it is actually what I do. You say, “God will never leave you or forsake you.” and I think, “well what if his definition of forsake is different than mine?” and then all of the sudden what is meant to bring me comfort fills me with fear.

I’ve been playing this scripture in my head a lot lately “We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ, ” (2 Corinthians 10:5) and I’m actually having to work very hard to follow through on this. God, and Jesus Christ both promise us peace, so I have to stop myself and think “This thought that I’m about to get carried away with, does it comfort me, or scare me? Does it bring me peace or fear?” If the answer is obviously not that it helps me in any way than I know that it isn’t from God and I need to stop letting my mind wander into the abyss.

I have worries that every mom has. We want the best for our children and that is honestly when all of this came about, but God will help me get through this. I’m going to link another blog here for you to read that also encouraged me. If peace is what you need today then rest assured that God will bring you peace, you just have to trust in him more than what your eyes (or thoughts) are showing you.

Heavenly Father,
Please help me Lord. Please bring peace to my mind and my heart Lord. I trust that You keep Your promises to us and that what we ask in Jesus’ name You will give to us. So Lord, Please bring me and these ladies some peace today. I love You so much Lord. You are so wonderful. Help me to know that beyond a shadow of a doubt.
In Jesus’ beautiful name I pray,
Amen

Leave a Reply

